Ode to Jeans

This trip has lead all of us on T.I.M.E. to develop a love affair with our denim. For days on end we wear the same maxi-skirts, hiking shorts, and linen pants, so when the occasion arises to button our jeans around our expanding waists, we get excited, albeit overly enthusiastic to be wearing what we now refer to as our “real people pants.” My love affair with my dark wash jeans has manifest itself in the form of the following poem:

Oh jeans your stiff blue denim

hugs my ever growing thighs with love and understanding

With you on my frame I am a real person again

You make me feel:

fancy,

adult,

ready to take on the dusty hot arid land we call the Middle East.

Oh jeans, why must you weigh so much?

I would have filled my suitcase with you,

but alas I can only fit along with my oversized, loose fitting garb.

Your hue of blue is a guiding light,

amongst my possessions of muddled tones.

I long for a day when I can be

a real person always,

and not just in your presence.

We are all wearing our jeans!

-Meg

About stotime

14 young adults, two fearless leaders, a multitude of language barriers and a world worth exploring.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

